Recharged

Fig. 1. Some of the books that I borrowed from school library, taken on 13 Oct 2013

After watching some tutorial videos that uploaded by my tutor, I decided to spend few days to get my resources prepared. With many attempts of keywords like ‘Gestalt’, ‘gestaltist’, ‘negative’, positive’, ‘figure’, ‘ground’, psychology’, ‘perception’, etc., I managed to get few useful sources from Google Scholar. Many of the sources are journals written for Gestalt psychology.

In term online resources, so far I had found Dorr Bothwell and Marlys Mayfield’s Notan: The Dark-light Principle of Design, Patrick Moore and Fitz Chad’s ‘Using Gestalt Theory to Teach Document and Graphics’, Lisa Graham’s ‘Gestalt Theory in Interactive Media Design’, Alex White’s The Elements of Graphic Design: Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type, Reuven Tsur’s ‘Metaphor and Figure-Ground Relationship: Comparisons from Poetry, Music, and the Visual Arts’, Lois Fichner-Rathus ‘s Foundation of Arts and Design, and Doris Schattschneiderand and Michele Emmer’s M.C.Escher’s Legacy: A Centennial Celebration, Roy Behrens’ ‘Art, Design and Gestalt Theory’.

Besides, I had also visited school library and manage to get some books, like Christian Leborg’s Visual Grammar, Bruce Block’s The Visual Story: Creating the Visual Structure of Film, TV and Digital Media, Ellen Lupton and Cole Phillips’ Graphic Design: The New Basics, Blain Brown’s Cinematography Theory & Practice and Kenya Hara’s Designing Design.

However, given the feedback my proposed bibliography wasn’t authoritative enough, I decided to start my searching all over again. First, I reexamined the content of my texts and realized that many of them had led me to certain direction. A number of authoritative theorist, practitioners and primary sources had been mentioned in my texts, I might just follow the direction. Second, it will be better for me to narrow down my theme little bit more; hence I made up my mind to focus on ‘negative space’. Thirdly, these books might be good additional reading for me.

Feeling recharged and backs on track now.

Leave a Reply

