Research On Research

Besides completing practice 1 module, I’m required to work on another module called Research and Enquiry. Other than assignment criteria, the brief also stresses the importance of research methods, awareness on current issues/debates, as well as the critical awareness of primary and secondary literature resources.

In order to deepen my understanding in research, I have to do some research on how to do research better. The easiest and quickest way to start with is to visit wikipedia.org. There are several definitions of research could be found in the website:

“In the broadest sense of the word, the definition of research includes any gathering of data, information and facts for the advancement of knowledge. ” – Martyn Shuttleworth

“Research is a process of steps used to collect and analyze information to increase our understanding of a topic or issue. It consists of three steps: Pose a question, collect data to answer the question, and present an answer to the question.”  – John W. Creswell

Basically, I need to collect a volume of data to analyze in order to answer my questions. First thing first, I should set some question for my study, e.g., ‘What is figure-ground phenomenon?’, ‘Who are the practitioners?’, ‘Which journals/books are authoritative enough for my topic?’, ‘What is Gestalt Psychology?’, etc. Among all the research methods, probably I might obtain the data easier by using exploratory research. The result of exploratory research might not be useful for decision-making, but it could provide me a significant insight to resolve my problems. In addition, some methods recommended by my tutor Barbara Brownies like Google Scholar, Google Books might be very useful.

In order to gain a broader view on my theme negative/positive, it would be easier for me to start with secondary literature, i.e., find out the article that introduced the prominent gestaltists and practitioners in my area of study. The secondary sources are useful to find the bibliography or even lead me to the primary literature.

According to a well-known historian, Leopold von Ranke (1795–1886), no other literature could be accepted as truth except of primary sources. However, most of us might remain content with most tertiary sources and only few secondary sources, probably due to the accessibility restriction to primary sources. After all, primary sources are regarded as my aim in this case.

Leave a Reply

